Man Ray Portraits

National Portrait Gallery, London

7 February – 27 May

I enjoyed this exhibition very much, mainly because I am a big admirer of Man Ray and one of his favourite subjects, Lee Miller. The collection was very extensive, ranging from his early works in New York, his time in Paris, Hollywood and then again, Paris. Although most of the photographs were familiar to me, it was very exciting for me to go to this exhibition, as all of the prints in were originals and not newly made copies. The way the exhibition was displayed was very clear and easy to follow. It was a little stuffy in there, but mainly because of the ridiculous amount of people within the exhibition. I suggest you come early and are ready to pay at least 10 quid for it! (It’s worth it, but as an art/design student, or lets just say as a student in general, I prefer free things). If you are planning on going to London, I strongly suggest that you should visit this exhibition and anything else in the NPG, as it is personally one of my favourite museums in London. Below are some of the most eye-catching photographs, which were new to me.

The Marquise Casati with Horses, 1935

The Marquise Casati with Horses, 1935

Antonin Artaud, 1926

Antonin Artaud, 1926

Lee Miller, Solarisation

Lee Miller, Solarisation

Barbette, 1926

Barbette, 1926

Dora Maar, 1936

Dora Maar, 1936

Marcel Duchamp as Belle Haleine, 1921

Marcel Duchamp as Belle Haleine, 1921

Noir et Blanc (1926), Kiki de Montparnasse/ this reminds me somewhat of Brancusi's 'Sleeping Muse' Sculpture

Noir et Blanc (1926), Kiki de Montparnasse/ this reminds me somewhat of Brancusi’s ‚Sleeping Muse‘ Sculpture

Erotique Voilee (Meret Oppenheim), 1923

Erotique Voilee (Meret Oppenheim), 1923

Genica Athanasiou, 1921

Genica Athanasiou, 1921

Lee Miller, Juan - Les - Pins, Antibes, 1930

Lee Miller, Juan – Les – Pins, Antibes, 1930

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar